Ministry of Quebec (concluded)

Minister of Labour and Manpower, Jean Cournover

Minister of Immigration, Jean Bienvenue

Minister of Tourism, Fish and Game, Claude

Minister of State for Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister of State for Finance, Oswald Parent

Minister of State responsible for the Eastern Quebec Development Bureau, Robert Ouenneville

Minister of State for Municipal Affairs and Environment, Georges Vaillancourt

Minister of State for Social Affairs, Lise Bacon Minister of State for Transport, Paul Berthiaume Minister of State for Quebec Planning and Development Bureau, Bernard Lachapelle

Minister of State to the Executive Council, Fernand Lalonde.

3.3.1.6 Ontario

The government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. In April 1974 the Honourable P. McGibbon took office as Lieutenant Governor. The Legislative Assembly is composed of 117 members elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years. At the general election October 21, 1971, 78 Progressive Conservatives, 20 Liberals and 19 New Democrats were elected to the province's 29th Legislature.

In addition to the regular ministries there are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1970, c.240 as amended) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$15,000 and an expense allowance of \$7,500. In addition, the Speaker receives a special annual indemnity of \$9,000, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole \$5,000 and the Leader of the Opposition a salary of \$18,000. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a ministry receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$25,000 and for a Cabinet

Minister having charge of a ministry \$18,000. The Leader of the Opposition receives a representation allowance of \$3,000 per annum. Each Minister without portfolio receives an annual salary of \$7,500.

The Executive Council of Ontario as at December 31, 1973

Premier and President of the Council, Hon. William G. Davis

Minister of Housing, Hon. Robert Welch

Provincial Secretary for Resource Development, Hon. A.B.R. Lawrence

Solicitor General, Hon. John Yaremko

Minister of Revenue, Hon. Allan Grossman Minister of Agriculture and Food, Hon. William A.

Stewart Minister of the Environment, Hon. James A.C. Auld

Minister of Community and Social Services, Hon. René Brunelle

Attorney General, Hon. Dalton A. Bales Minister of Education, Hon. Thomas L. Wells

Minister of Labour, Hon. Fern Guindon Treasurer of Ontario, Minister of Economics and Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. John White

Provincial Secretary for Justice, Hon. George A.

Kerr

Minister of Correctional Services, Hon. C.J.S. Apps Minister of Transportation and Communications, Hon, Gordon Carton

Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. Leo Bernier Chairman of the Management Board of Cabinet, Hon. Eric A. Winkler

Minister of Government Services, Hon. James W.

Minister of Health, Hon. Richard T. Potter Minister of Consumer and Commercial Relations,

Hon. John T. Clement Minister of Colleges and Universities, Hon. Jack

McNie

Minister without Portfolio, Hon. Margaret Birch Minister of Industry and Tourism, Hon. Claude

Minister of Energy, Hon. W. Darcy McKeough.

3.3.1.7 Manitoba

In addition to a Lieutenant Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council composed of 15 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Honourable William John McKeag has been Lieutenant Governor since July 3, 1970. As a result of the general election June 28, 1973, 31 New Democrats, 21 Progressive Conservatives and five Liberals were elected to the 30th Legislature.